Back to All Events

Lunchtime Concert Series: Baroque Violoncello and Harpsichord Works

  • The Baroque Room 275 4th Street East, Suite 280 Saint Paul, MN, 55101 United States (map)

Lunchtime Concert Series
Baroque Violoncello and Harpsichord Works

Charles Asch, cello
Bruce Jacbos, harpsichord

Admission is FREE

-Suite V in C minor, "Discordable", a Violoncello Solo - Johann Sebastian. Bach    
-Partita VI, "Lamentation on the Death of Ferdinand IV" -  Johann Jakob Froberger
-Sonata III in A minor for Cello and Basso Continuo - Antonio Vivaldi
-Sonata III in C major by Cello and Basso Continuo - Francesco Geminiani

Charles Asch, Baroque cellist and Bruce Jacobs, harpsichordist, present a program of violoncello/basso continuo works from the 17-18th Centuries.  Works by Froberger, a virtuoso harpsichordist and composer who inspired J.S. Bach in his dance suites, are presented in counterpoint with the great Suite V in C minor, Discordable" on solo cello.  

The Sonatas by Vivaldi and Geminiani contain a multitude of "affects" or musical character depictions, and among the best instrumental composition for violoncello and harpsichord continuo.  Charles Asch performs on a German Baroque cello from cerca 1730, and performs with the Lyra Baroque Orchestra. Bruce Jacobs and Charles Asch have performed together with the Rose Ensemble. 

Earlier Event: October 15
The Saint Paul Classical Music Crawl
Later Event: October 22
A Grand Tour - Ladyslipper Ensemble